Whelp, I’m failing the class

My paper is really not going well. Firstly, my research method is pretty bad. I’ve been going to Brandeis every day at roughly the same time to see how many larvae I can see under all the rocks on that little hill in the center of campus and see if I can correlate the number with the daily temperature based on Prof. Perlman saying that ants tend to heat their larvae under rocks. Now, besides the issues generated by basing research on a passing remark, this will only tell me anything if I get a positive, is highly reliant on outside conditions, generates very little data, and is inferior in every way to a simple experiment in which I control the temp of a rock above a captive colony. I can’t even get the best readings because I don’t have any tools I trust to take the rock temp, making me reliant of weather reports.

Next, I’m not getting enough data. I can’t find any hourly reports, so that I can get only one reading a day, and I started on tuesday. This would be all right if the weather was more variable, but it’s been consistantly chilly, so that I’ve only seen a few larvae. At this point, I don’t think I can get an adequate amount of data.

Lastly, I haven’t been able to start the paper yet because I have two papers of the same length due at the same time.

Oh, and did I mention that ants are Perlman’s forte?

About scalfin

Student blog. Blah, blah, blah.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whelp, I’m failing the class

  1. rabidrodent says:

    I’ve collected my data, but can’t seem to figure out which way to go with it. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

